1. Type:
    group exhibition
  2. date:
  3. event:
  4. place:
    Oslo Pl. 1, 2100 Copenhagen K, Denmark


The artists’ association Grønningen has alway been known for its diversity, openness and often large scale. Rather than representing a specific ideological or conceptual program, the primary focus of the association is the energy and affects of individual works and how they relate to various contexts. In the exhibition this year Grønningen is presenting works by 38 members as well as by 3 invited guest artists: Peter Linde Busk, Rasmus Nilausen, and Lilibeth Cuenca Rasmussen. This amounts to 38+3 different directions, across various mediums and techniques encompassing painting, sculpture, photography, textile, drawing, ceramics, collage, performance, and installation.

The great variation in formats and types of expressions reflects the diversity on the art scene, where a multitude of different positions exist side by side in an open field. Instead of an overall theme is a wide selection of ways of thinking and making art; a manifesto for the heterogenous. Historically, Grønningen has continually transformed itself in line with the general developments in art and culture. In its current constellation no work is disqualified per se. Thus everything is potentially valid, but on the condition that an individual takes responsibility for it and invest themselves in the work with their own thoughts, bodies or actions. Diversity is not just a point of departure but a commitment that must infifinitely be reinvented in new forms. Since 1915 Grønningen has realised more than 100 exhibitions in various places and this is the 17th at Den Frie. The exhibition this year is also a farewell to two of the associations’ long-standing members, Stig Brøgger and Lone Høyer Hansen, that passed away recently.

Participating artists:
Poul Agger, Merete Barker, Katja Bjørn, Peter Bonnén, Peter Brandes, Stig Brøgger, Morten Buch, Ronald Burns, Peter Linde Busk (guest), Ruth Campau, Eva Steen Christensen, Viera Collaro, Anette Harboe Flensburg, Leonard Forslund, Erik A. Frandsen, Mads Gamdrup, Hjördis Haack, Lone Høyer Hansen, Ib Monrad Hansen, Nicolai Howalt, Kristofer Hultenberg, Poul Janus Ipsen, Astrid Kruse Jensen, Kirsten Justesen, Anita Jørgensen, Eske Kath, Eva Koch, Karin Lorentzen, Lise Malinovsky, Søren Martinsen, Michael Mørk, Mie Mørkeberg, Tina Maria Nielsen, Rasmus Nilausen (guest), Hans Pauli Olsen, Lilibeth Cuenca Rasmussen (guest), Trine Søndergaard, Arne Haugen Sørensen, Jørgen Haugen Sørensen, Jette Thyssen og Elisabeth Toubro.